Drinking & Dragons


From Drinking and Dragons

Chameleon Creature

"Chameleon creature" is an inherited template that can be added to any corporeal creature except a construct, undead, or elemental (referred to hereafter as the base creature). This template was applied preundead state.

Size and Type: Type remains the same, but it has the reptilian subtype. Sized unchanged.

Attacks: A chameleon creature has a tongue attack with a 10' reach. This attack deals no damage, but it is especially useful for delivering touch spells.

Speed: Gains a climb speed equal to 1/2 creatures highest nonflying speed.

Special Qualities: Gains low-light vision.

Skills: +10 racial to Hide; +4 racial to Move Silently

Level Adjustment: +1


“Necropolitan” is an acquired template that can be added to any humanoid or monstrous humanoid (referred to hereafter as the base creature).

A necropolitan speaks any languages it knew in life, and it has all the base creature’s statistics and special abilities except as noted here.

Size and Type: The creature’s type changes to undead, and it gains the augmented subtype. Do not recalculate base attack bonus, saves, or skill points. Size is unchanged.

Hit Dice: Increase to d12.

Special Qualities: A necropolitan retains all the special qualities of the base creature and gains those described below.

Resist Control (Ex): Necropolitans have a +2 profane bonus on their Will saving throws to resist the effect of a control undead spell.

Turn Resistance (Ex): A necropolitan has +2 turn resistance.

Unnatural Resilience (Ex): Necropolitans automatically heal hit point damage and ability damage at the same rate as a living creature. The Heal skill has no effect on necropolitans; however, negative energy (such as an inflict spell) heals them.

Abilities: Same as the base creature, except that as undead creatures, necropolitans have no Constitution score.

Advancement: By character class.

Level Adjustment: Same as the base creature. (Becoming a necropolitan involves losing a level—see Ritual of Crucimigration, below—so the advantages of the undead type cancel out what would other wise be a larger adjustment.)

Undead Type

Undead are once-living creatures animated by spiritual or supernatural forces.


An undead creature has the following features.

  • 12-sided Hit Dice.
  • Base attack bonus equal to ½ total Hit Dice (as wizard).
  • Good Will saves.
  • Skill points equal to (4 + Int modifier, minimum 1) per Hit Die, with quadruple skill points for the first Hit Die, if the undead creature has an Intelligence score. However, many undead are mindless and gain no skill points or feats.


An undead creature possesses the following traits (unless otherwise noted in a creature’s entry).

  • No Constitution score.
  • Darkvision out to 60 feet.
  • Immunity to all mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, phantasms, patterns, and morale effects).
  • Immunity to poison, sleep effects, paralysis, stunning, disease, and death effects.
  • Not subject to critical hits, nonlethal damage, ability drain, or energy drain. Immune to damage to its physical ability scores (Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution), as well as to fatigue and exhaustion effects.
  • Cannot heal damage on its own if it has no Intelligence score, although it can be healed. Negative energy (such as an inflict spell) can heal undead creatures. The fast healing special quality works regardless of the creature’s Intelligence score.
  • Immunity to any effect that requires a Fortitude save (unless the effect also works on objects or is harmless).
  • Uses its Charisma modifier for Concentration checks.
  • Not at risk of death from massive damage, but when reduced to 0 hit points or less, it is immediately destroyed.
  • Not affected by raise dead and reincarnate spells or abilities. Resurrection and true resurrection can affect undead creatures. These spells turn undead creatures back into the living creatures they were before becoming undead.
  • Proficient with its natural weapons, all simple weapons, and any weapons mentioned in its entry.
  • Proficient with whatever type of armor (light, medium, or heavy) it is described as wearing, as well as all lighter types. Undead not indicated as wearing armor are not proficient with armor. Undead are proficient with shields if they are proficient with any form of armor.
  • Undead do not breathe, eat, or sleep.
Dispelling Turning
An evil cleric may channel negative energy to dispel a good cleric’s turning effect. The evil cleric makes a turning check as if attempting to rebuke the undead. If the turning check result is equal to or greater than the turning check result that the good cleric scored when turning the undead, then the undead are no longer turned. The evil cleric rolls turning damage of 2d6 + cleric level + Charisma modifier to see how many Hit Dice worth of undead he can affect in this way (as if he were rebuking them).
Bolstering Undead
An evil cleric may also bolster undead creatures against turning in advance. He makes a turning check as if attempting to rebuke the undead, but the Hit Dice result on Table: Turning Undead becomes the undead creatures’ effective Hit Dice as far as turning is concerned (provided the result is higher than the creatures’ actual Hit Dice). The bolstering lasts 10 rounds. An evil undead cleric can bolster himself in this manner.

Fear Condition Summaries

1. Shaken A shaken character takes a -2 penalty on attack rolls, saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. Shaken is a less severe state of fear than frightened or panicked.

2. Frightened A frightened creature flees from the source of its fear as best it can. If unable to flee, it may fight. A frightened creature takes a -2 penalty on all attack rolls, saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. A frightened creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape. Frightened is like shaken, except that the creature must flee if possible. Panicked is a more extreme state of fear.

Frightened optional rule from Heroes of Horror With this optional rule for the frightened condition, a character who is frightened is not forced to flee from the source of her fear. Instead, this condition imposes a –4 penalty on attack rolls, saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. A frightened creature subjected to another similar effect (but not the same spell or effect) becomes panicked instead. This optional rule allows fear to escalate more slowly and allows for more differentiation between the panicked and frightened conditions.

3. Panicked A panicked creature must drop anything it holds and flee at top speed from the source of its fear, as well as any other dangers it encounters, along a random path. It can’t take any other actions. In addition, the creature takes a -2 penalty on all saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. If cornered, a panicked creature cowers. A panicked creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape. Panicked is a more extreme state of fear than shaken or frightened.

Escalating Fear, from Heroes of Horror Fear breeds fear. A character who is shaken becomes more susceptible to fear effects: If another effect would make him shaken again, he becomes frightened instead. If an effect would make him frightened, he instead becomes panicked. Similarly, an already frightened character who is subjected to another fear effect becomes panicked.

As a general rule, multiple exposures to the same spell or effect do not trigger this escalation of fear. Thus, casting doom on a target twice does not make it frightened. However, casting doom and then cause fear will create a heightened state of fear: The target is panicked if it fails its save against cause fear, or frightened if it succeeds (assuming it already failed its save against the doom, of course). Similarly, a character fi ghting two dragons does not become frightened if the frightful presence of both dragons would make her shaken—the two dragons’ frightful presence abilities are considered the same effect.

The durations of the different fear effects are not relevant. If a creature subject to doom becomes panicked as a result of a cause fear spell, it is panicked for the full duration of cause fear, even if the doom spell’s duration expires before the cause fear spell’s duration does.